I Might Be Wrong

Preview of our new Maemo theme

Posted in Maemo, Python by Leif Ryge on September 21, 2008

Ian and I have been working on a new release of our LCARS packages, featuring a number of bug fixes as well as a new theme called “Okuda”:
"Okuda" theme running on N810

If all goes well, we should be ready to release this within the next 48 hours. All four of our themes now include icon templates, which we’re slicing with hildon-theme-slicer (the same way that the main theme template is processed). This is what the icon template for the Okuda theme looks like:
icon_template.png
Anyone else wishing to create a hildon-theme-tools (and ThemeMaker) compatible layout definition might find this Python script helpful:

#!/usr/bin/python2.5
"""Generate a hildon-theme-tools layout from variously sized images.
Edit script to specify desired margin, width, and origin (dx,dy).
usage: hildon-theme-layout-grid-generator.py `find icons|sort|grep png`
"""

__author__ = "Leif Ryge <leif @synthesize.us>"
__license__ = "no rights reserved / public domain"

from sys import argv
from PIL import Image

margin, width, dx,dy = 10, 600, 0,0 # margin, output width, starting coords
sizes = {}

for f in argv[1:]: sizes.setdefault(Image.open(f).size,[]).append(f)

print "[Main]\nTemplateWidth=%s\nTemplateHeight=%s\n\n[Elements]" % (width, \
    sum((h+margin)*(len(sizes[w,h])/(width/(w+margin))+1) for w,h in sizes) )

for w,h in sorted(sizes):
    column = width / (w+margin)
    row = 1 + len(sizes[w,h]) / column
    print "# %s images are %sx%s (%sx%s grid)" % (len(sizes[w,h]),w,h,column,row)
    for i, f in enumerate(sizes[w,h]):
        print "%s=%s,%s,%s,%s" % (f, dx+(i%column)*(w+margin),
                                     dy+(i/column)*(h+margin),w,h)
    dy = dy+row*(h+margin)

The actual template can then be created from existing images using Nokia’s hildon-theme-regenerator tool.

18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Anthony said, on September 22, 2008 at 7:48 am

    I think from the look it’s very good. Drop me a e-mail When it’s ready..

  2. elhumano said, on September 22, 2008 at 8:20 pm

    It’s like the startrek computer

  3. ACTPOHABT said, on September 22, 2008 at 10:43 pm

    How do I install this theme when it’s out? I love it!!!

  4. app development cost said, on January 11, 2013 at 4:03 am

    Appreciating the dedication you put into your blog
    and in depth information you provide. It’s awesome to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same outdated rehashed information.
    Wonderful read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  5. Keeley said, on January 30, 2013 at 6:45 pm

    I’ll immediately grab your rss as I can not in finding your e-mail subscription link or e-newsletter service. Do you have any? Please permit me understand in order that I may just subscribe. Thanks.

  6. Women in Waders 2013 Calendar said, on February 14, 2013 at 2:12 pm

    Hi there! I just wish to give you a big thumbs up for your great information you
    have got here on this post. I will be returning to your
    website for more soon.

  7. Outdoor Living Area said, on February 28, 2013 at 10:02 pm

    What you posted was very reasonable. However, what about this?
    what if you wrote a catchier title? I ain’t suggesting your information is not good, but suppose you added a headline to possibly get a person’s attention?
    I mean Preview of our new Maemo theme | I Might Be Wrong
    is a little boring. You should peek at Yahoo’s front page and note how they create article titles to get viewers to open the links. You might try adding a video or a related pic or two to grab people interested about everything’ve got to say.
    Just my opinion, it could make your blog a little livelier.

  8. healthcare organizations said, on March 2, 2013 at 4:48 pm

    I’m not sure why but this site is loading very slow for me. Is anyone else having this problem or is it a problem on my end? I’ll check back later
    and see if the problem still exists.

  9. Doreen said, on March 2, 2013 at 10:48 pm

    I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your site. It’s a very easy on
    the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable for me to come here and visit more often.
    Did you hire out a designer to create your theme? Outstanding
    work!

  10. ebooks on electronics said, on March 3, 2013 at 3:05 am

    Hi there friends, pleasant paragraph and pleasant
    arguments commented at this place, I am genuinely enjoying by these.

  11. GolfScoreGenius said, on March 5, 2013 at 10:43 am

    ´╗┐Amazing! I’m genuinely enjoying the design of your website. Are you using a custom made template or is this freely available to all users? If you do not want to say the name of it out in the public, please be sure to e-mail me. I’d love to get my hands on this theme!
    Kudos.

  12. electra vx male enhancement review said, on December 23, 2013 at 4:23 pm

    Currebtly it looks like Movable Type is thee top blogging platform out there right now.(from what I’ve read) Is that what you’re useing on
    your blog?

  13. Boyce said, on May 26, 2014 at 7:51 pm

    Don’t look for it on prepaid carriers; they just recently got
    the Galaxy S2, and it costs more than you probably want to pay up-front
    if you’re going prepaid. However, Samsung has placed a sensitivity feature on its screen. Swarovski cases aren’t cheap
    and often have a cost that might discourage many people but for
    individuals who are definitely into bling cases that do not look cheap
    it might really be a whole lot.

  14. What’s up everyone, it’s my first pay a quick visit at
    this website, and paragraph is actually fruitful designed for me, keep
    upp posting such content.

  15. Hi there, the whole thig is going well here and ofcourse every one is sharing data, that’s
    really good, keep up writing.

  16. mature housewives said, on July 2, 2014 at 1:24 pm

    I just like the valuable information you provijde in your articles.
    I will bookmark your weblog and check once more right here regularly.
    I am rather sure I’ll be told a lot of neww stuff proper right here!
    Best of luck for the next!

  17. how to get laid fast said, on July 5, 2014 at 12:53 am

    My developer is trying tto persuade me to move to .net from PHP.
    I have always disliked the idea because of the costs.
    But he’s tryiong none thhe less. I’ve been using WordPress on a variety of websites for about a year and
    am concerned about swwitching to another platform.
    I have heard fantastic things about blogengine.net.
    Is there a way I can transfer all my wordpress posts into it?

    Any kind of help would be really appreciated!

  18. get laid said, on July 8, 2014 at 5:23 pm

    Heya i’m ffor the primary time here. I came across this board and I find It truly
    helpful & it helped me out a lot. I’m hoping to give somethhing
    back annd help others such as you helped me.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

